One Step At A Time

13 Jul

More to come later, but here’s a brief run down on the ways I’m preparing for Ukraine:

*Currently I’m tutoring four students in English through the IEI ( Intensive English Institute ) of UIUC. I meet with two students at a time for an hour each week. I’ve only had my first meeting at this point and I’m excited as well as nervous for what’s to come.

*Procrastination on the Ukraine is going exceedingly well. I need to kick my butt into gear on this one. Though the consistent answer I have heard from current volunteers and RPCVs is that they knew no Ukrainian/Russian before training, I want to get a head start on this so that it’s not such a shock that…

*I signed up for full immersion language training. Starting at the end of September, no more English for me. Being the type-A person that I am, there are times I worry myself sick about the prospect of struggling in these classes, but this truly will be the most effective way to learn the language.

*Attempting to run outside is my newest obstacle. I want to keep up my running throughout the next two years because of my hopes to eventually run a half and full marathon, and that means being able to train outdoors while I’m in Ukraine. While I can do 4 miles easily on a treadmill, I’m only up to 2.88 miles outside; I’m counting this one as a win nonetheless as I haven’t attempted to run outside in roughly eight months.

*Plans are starting to be made for the going away party!

*I have notified my bosses here at UIUC of the date of my final day of summer work so that I can start the agonizing process of attempting to pack 100 lbs of luggage for a two year trip. This involves evaluating what is safe to ship separately, as the Peace Corps indicated most of our mail will probably be opened ( possibly with items removed ) once it goes through all of the systems required in order to arrive at our posts in Ukraine.

2 Responses to “One Step At A Time”

  1. Tara Uebelhor Bayse 14 July, 2009 at 23:08 #

    Have I mentioned I’m very envious of you? Take the bull by the horns and live it!

  2. Andrea Zimmermann 16 July, 2009 at 05:02 #

    Hey there!
    I just came across your blog, and I wanted to reach out to say that I am also headed to Ukraine with the Peace Corps in September! Even better, I’m actually based in Springfield, IL, just over an hour from Champaign! I’d love to pick your brain about all of our preparations. You can reach me at ajzimm [at] gmail [dot] com !!!

Leave a Reply

