“staying inside, it all goes, all goes by”

6 Dec

I am determined to give you an update that will make you laugh, appreciate the culture shock I have gone through, and miss me anew before I leave Nosivka…this, however will not be that post.  Disorganization has reared it’s ugly head in my room here with the end of training in crystal clear high-def sight.  Nonetheless, I will get the better of it and post a legitimate blog entry within the week.  Let’s compromise with a photo update for now, shall we?

Literally, these have become my happy pills.  I adore winter, but I can’t say the same for seasonal affective disorder.  Though these vitamins fail to do anything for my frustration over the fact that the sun sets at 4 pm and the (sporadically placed) street lights come on at roughly 5 pm, the swelling my ankles suffer from stumbling into one of the abysses on my pot-hole ridden street somewhere in this hour gap, and the security concerns surrounding walking past shifty forms in the bitter cold – I’m still going to insist on their miraculous nature.

We had an actual sunrise for once!  After this rare event, it’s possible we saw the sun for the total of an hour that day, after which it disappeared behind all the clouds and has been hidden by think, gray paint strokes ever since.

Happy (late) Thanksgiving from my entire cluster.  In the front, that’s our local contact, Zoya.  Always full of stories, impromptu speeches that can move you to tears, and hysterical but true social commentary, she’s been the uplifting presence through many of our tiresome days and frustrating schedule conflicts.

Do I look Eastern European yet?  I just got new bangs cut today.  None of my cluster mates know unless Kari reads this post tonight.  We’ll see what they say about them tomorrow.

No pictures were taken, but Saturday was a girls’ day for me and Kari in ніжин – the “big city” – and highlights include:

  • my extended Ukrainian conversation with mama and tato about the best way to get to ніжин, in which I understood everything that was said to me.
  • the controller of the train telling us “good job” for something on the way there, although neither of us could figure out what we had done.
  • being accosted by men in giant furry suits that were promoting a show.  Ignoring them did no good, and one stole my hat.
  • when asked whether she had size 40 shoes (US size 10), a woman working a booth at the local bazar said, “are you kidding? go to a store.”  Nice.
  • sitting in a cafe watching Will Smith music videos.
  • Kari almost stepping on a dead cat.  Our theory is this is instant karma for laughing at a girl that had almost face-planted on the concrete a second before.
  • getting out of the marshrutka at the wrong bazar and walking 30 minutes to find the real one.
  • seeing our first Ukrainian political rally in person, although we were good little Peace Corps volunteers and gave it a wide berth.
  • my ability to actually recognize which presidential candidate the rally was for based on the flag and tent colors.
  • running frantically to catch our train back to носівка.
  • mastering the Ukrainian travel tactics and managing to get seats in the marshrutka back to town from the train station.

Music: “Come On, Come Out” -A Fine Frenzy

2 Responses to ““staying inside, it all goes, all goes by””

  1. paige 7 December, 2009 at 08:51 #

    will smith music videos….

    I love your scatter/pic blog… it made me laugh and any blog posted by you is a treat to read!

  2. Erin 'Ed' Donahue 7 December, 2009 at 15:10 #

    OMG! Your hair looks adorable, love it! I’m so happy you posted an update. I’m glad you’re able to get around and understand your host parents. I was always so exhausted from trying to understand and speak Spanish. I want to send you something for Christmas, so you’ll have to let me know where to send it! Shoot me an email: donahue.edd (at) gmail (dot) com.

    Lots of love!

Leave a Reply

